Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default AP Meridian flip misbehaviour - Tracking Stops at Meridian

Hi Bob
    Sometimes tracking stops during the last image before meridian flip; the trailed image cannot be solved so after flip there is no pointing correction (except for the initial auto-center).
    Details: Exptime 15s, no filter change. Flip settings - mount can track 10m past, needs 2m assurance. Log: entry says waiting 117 sec to pass flip limit (that log entry is after the trailed image is downloaded). Equipment, A-P 1200 GTO.
    This failure happens only sometimes, even with the same 15s exptime.
    Solution would be appreciated! Thanks.

So your AP 1200 will not track through the meridian? That would be strange. Or maybe you have a "meridian delay" cheat set up where it flips late? Or some tracking limits set up in the mount? I am not an AP expert, maybe someone can chime in here?

One thing that might help is a log file from the run.
    Attach it here to your reply (don't paste) <-- link to attaching instructions
    -- Bob

Hi Tom,
    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Richards View Post
    Hi Bob
    Sometimes tracking stops during the last image before meridian flip; the trailed image cannot be solved so after flip there is no pointing correction (except for the initial auto-center).
    Details: Exptime 15s, no filter change. Flip settings - mount can track 10m past, needs 2m assurance. Log: entry says waiting 117 sec to pass flip limit (that log entry is after the trailed image is downloaded). Equipment, A-P 1200 GTO.
    This failure happens only sometimes, even with the same 15s exptime.
    Solution would be appreciated! Thanks.
    Are you running APCC? If so do you have meridian limits enabled? If so, that might be what is causing tracking to stop.

-Ray

Thanks for chiming in Ray! I appreciate your help.
    -- Bob

Hi Bob,