Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    near London, UK
    Posts
    48

    Default Scheduler 8 Install/Upgrade Problem

    I installed ACP v8 today and had no problems. When I tried to install Scheduler 8 I got a window saying my upgrades had expired and there seems to be no way to continue.

    My ACP upgrades expire 02-May-2017 and my Scheduler upgrades expire 28-Mar-2017.

    How do I install Scheduler since there seems to be no way to put in the license?

    Bill Martin
    -Bill

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    27,051

    Default

    I think you maybe didn't put your new Scheduler license in when you got it back in March? The idea was to put the new Scheduler license in before doing the upgrades. I have changed this for ACP Expert 8 such that the scheduler will start even though its companion ACP has been upgraded with a newer major (and incompatible) version, allowing you to enter the newer Scheduler license. This pain will be gone after Expert 8. Note that all of this interlocking is to protect people from installing a version for which they are not eligible, thus instantly rendering their software unusable ("shooing themselves in the foot").

    There's a way around this though. I just converted your Scheduler to ACP Expert (no support pricing change) with later date of 02-May-2017 as the expiry, and sent it to you. Put this into ACP. Now try the Scheduler installer. If it still doesn't work (which may be the case) I'll have to get on and manually fix things. Again this is a result of not updating your license last March. I apologize. You are not alone, and I made changes that, once Scheduler 8 is in there, won't affect future customers. Scheduler 8 will revert to simulation only mode.
    -- Bob

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Southern Oregon
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Bob,

    I'm in the same situation - installed ACP 8.0 fine, but hadn't updated my license for Scheduler, and now am stuck trying to install Scheduler 8.

    Any advice?

    Thanks,

    Sean

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    near London, UK
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Hi Sean,

    I struggled even with Bob's very helpful supply of new licenses that merged my old ones into one for Expert. I eventually had to uninstall both components of 8.0 reinstall the last versions of ACP and Scheduler with the new single license then upgrade each to 8.0. Crude but it worked for me. I'm sure there' a more elegant way...
    -Bill

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Southern Oregon
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Bill,

    Thanks - this makes sense, and it should get me past my current roadblock.

    Yours,

    Sean

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    27,051

    Default

    This won't happen after V8. I am amazed that you successfully back-revved ACP. I never test for it. For Scheduler it is definitely a one way trip to V8 due to modifications/additions to the relational database schema and stored procedures.

    Anyway, once Scheduler 8 is there, it (and subsequent versions) will start with an incompatible ACP, allowing you to input the correct license. In fact, Scheduler can be installed on a system without ACP installed at all! In both cases, it will start in a mode that limits it to simulator mode.

    Sean, I will call you this afternoon (I was out for the OPT show over this weekend). I don't want you to uninstall/reinstall.
    -- Bob

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    27,051

    Default

    Solved with a 10 minute phone call.
    -- Bob

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Southern Oregon
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Bob,

    Thanks as always for great customer service!

    Sean

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sun Lakes, AZ
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Hi Bob,

    I also get the message as follows: "Your support and upgrades has expired...."


    What do I need to do?


    Leo

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    27,051

    Default Scheduler 8 Install/Upgrade Problem

    Did you upgrade and install ACP 8 but not enter your license for Scheduler 8? If so I need to get on to your system. It will take 10 minutes, and won't happen after you get V8 installed. I can do it any time, let me know. I'm already busy is afternoon & evening and all day tomorrow and evening.
    -- Bob

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •