Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Andover, MA
    Posts
    174

    Default Focus Max and RCOS TCC Endless loop error box popup

    Hi,

    I am also having intermittent trouble with focusmax not seeing my RCOS TCC, even though it seems to be getting proper focus count information from the TCC and seems to be configured properly. I get into an endless focusmax "retry/switch to" option window. Only solution is to use task manager to shut focusmax down.

    Focusmax does successfully focus some of the time.

    I usually start focusmax first and let it bring up the TCC Status Box.

    I am not having any trouble with the TCC stanalone software.


    Anybody see this?

    Thanks,

    Paul

    Last edited by Bob Denny; Sep 4, 2014 at 14:50. Reason: Remove gray color from text

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    31,341

    Default

    The Retry/Switch box is Windows' way of handling the situation where program A calls a function in program B, and program B never returns from the call, leaving program A in limbo, unable to continue. In this case A is FocusMax and B is the TCC. I'm going to guess that, if this "just started happening" that there is a weakness in the USB connection to the focuser, low power supply voltage in the focuser (TCC) maybe which could be causing excessive USB noise... etc.
    -- Bob

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Andover, MA
    Posts
    174

    Default

    Thanks for that info Bob. My version TCC is a direct RS 232 Serial connection (with a DB-9) as opposed to USB. The strange part is that the TCC control program (by RCOS) that is called by focusmax seems to maintain good connection to the focusser at all times. I can see this in the TCC pop up window, and I can continue control and monitor the focusser manually if desired through that application. That makes me look away from hardware/wiring problems.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    31,341

    Default

    OK, that eliminates that theory... I hope you can find it.
    -- Bob

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. RCOS TCC not working Win7 64
    By Bill McLaughlin in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: Aug 9, 2019, 12:30
  2. Rcos tcc
    By Matt Russell in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: Aug 7, 2013, 17:18
  3. Semi ACP Related RCOS TCC Software Issue
    By Bill McLaughlin in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: Sep 9, 2011, 03:00
  4. RCOS TCC Problem with ACP
    By Paul Shulins in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: Apr 26, 2011, 00:01
  5. RCOS TCC isn't showing up as focuser choice
    By John K in forum FocusMax and PoleAlignMax Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Feb 26, 2010, 03:59

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •