Threaded View

Default New ACP web item: "Live" SkyChart with telescope position for ACP Web UI

Hi guys!

SkyChart is now replaced with 1.1 version, read new instructions below
    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    Updates:

* Easier to modify the .asp to customize your own interface:
    * User-selectable chartsize
    * Adjustable transparency for both sky-gradient and alt-az grids
    * Improved accuracy over the whole chart
    * Improved scope-status, now including Slewing, Tracking, Stopped, Parked
    * Choose between 6 reticles (below)

------------------------------------------------------------------

In these days of endless bad weather, I've had some time to play around with programming & learning some new things (started from zero when I got ACP last year). I've never done jscript before, & had a peek at different parts of ACP to figure out how to use it.
    Since I'm often checking my imaging-progress from my phone, I often wonder where my scope is pointing, & how far from the meridian I am... Sure, the alt / az info is all there, but since I'm pretty new in astronomy, I prefer to have it all on a nice sky-map in front of me. That's not a problem when using a computer, but when I'm on my phone, I often wish for more.

So I decided to try & make a new tiddler for the ACP Web UI, namely a chart of the current sky above my observatory, & also a reticle where my scope is pointint. After countless of hours, the "beta" is available if you want to try it out.

Here's an example from today, when tracking Castor, and scope-reticle showed correct position by using alt/az from the scope.
    (Click image for bigger version)

First off, I went to http://www.fourmilab.ch/cgi-bin/Yoursky to generate a reusable image-url for my location, to be used inside the tiddler.