Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Virgil, NY
    Posts
    4,723

    Default MaxIm DL sporadic "Cannot open file..."

    I posted a similar message on the MaxIm DL Forum.

    I've begun having a problem opening files in MaxIm v5 (5.0.6). I'm running Windows 7, and MaxIm is installed in the Program Files (x86) directory. This trouble has begun recently, sometime after this past Tuesday. I know I wasn't having this problem on Tuesday.

    When I (try to) open a .fts file (single or a group of files) using File/Open, an error box with the title "MaxIm DL Pro 5" pops up, containing the message

    "Could not open file "C:\Users\...\filename.fts [6]"

    I'm certain this is not directly an issue with MaxIm. It's very likely to be an issue with a huge slew of Microsoft updates I installed yesterday. Have others had this problem yet (if so, do you know what's going on}?

    This problem does not occur for the same version of MaxIm I'm running on Windows XP.

    In any case, does someone know what the code [6] signifies?

    Thanks for anyone's help.
    Dick
    www.VirgilObservatory.us
    Pier-mounted Meade 12-inch SCT "classic"
    w. focal reducer to f/5.3 ~ FL 1630mm
    Optec TCF-S focuser
    SBIG CFW-8A and ST7-XME
    FOV ~ 15' x 10'
    H-alpha, BVRI, RGB & Clear filters
    MaxIm and, of course, ACP!
    AAVSO Code: BRIC

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scottsville, Virginia
    Posts
    1,058

    Email

    Dick,

    I saw this issue several weeks ago after building my new i7 processing
    computer. I had chosen about 30 or so images to open to calibrate in MaxImDl
    5.15 and most opened but 3-4 did not resulting in an error message. I could
    however go back and open those individually. Weird problem that only
    happened several times and I haven't seen it since. I don't think Windows
    updates had anything to do with it as the problem disappeared between
    Tuesdays and hasn't been seen since. I only had this issue in MaxIm but then
    that's the only program I was trying to open so many images at one time in.
    Take that back, I did use CCD Inspector and it didn't have any issue reading
    the files.

    Steve
    www.astral-imaging.com

    -----Original Message-----
    From: Dick Berg [mailto:]
    Sent: Saturday, November 12, 2011 11:26 AM
    To: sreilly@hughes.net
    Subject: [ACP Observatory Control Software] "Cannot open file..."

    I posted a similar message on the MaxIm DL Forum.

    I've begun having a problem opening files in MaxIm v5 (5.0.6). I'm running
    Windows 7, and MaxIm is installed in the Program Files (x86) directory. This
    trouble has begun recently, sometime after this past Tuesday. I know I
    wasn't having this problem on Tuesday.

    When I (try to) open a .fts file (single or a group of files) using
    File/Open, an error box with the title "MaxIm DL Pro 5" pops up, containing
    the message

    "Could not open file "C:\Users\...\filename.fts [6]"

    I'm certain this is not directly an issue with MaxIm. It's very likely to be
    an issue with a huge slew of Microsoft updates I installed yesterday. Have
    others had this problem yet (if so, do you know what's going on}?

    This problem does not occur for the same version of MaxIm I'm running on
    Windows XP.

    In any case, does someone know what the code [6] signifies?

    Thanks for anyone's help.










    This message was posted via email
    Steve
    http://www.astral-imaging.com

    Scottsville, Virginia
    ACP Expert
    AP1200GTO
    Tak EM200
    AP 92mm Stowaway
    OGS 12.5" RC
    TAK FSQ-106ED
    STL-11000M/CF8
    ST10XME/CFW8
    Pyxis 3" Rotator

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Virgil, NY
    Posts
    4,723

    Default

    Hi Steve,

    I uninstalled a few of the Windows updates, but that did nothing. So I reinstalled those.

    If I click on one image in a folder, it starts MaxIm and reads the image. If I select multiple images in a folder, and right click on the set, it will only open a maximum of 15 images. If I select more than 15, the "Open in MaxIm..." does not appear in the drop-down menu.

    If those images are open in MaxIm, I still can't open more from MaxIm's File/Open, though I can select 15 more in the folder and right-click open them all, adding to those that are already open.

    If the images are listed in MaxIm's recent files list, I can select those and they will open, but not if I select the same image via File/Open.

    This is weird.

    Maybe I'll get lucky and it's just a stuffy nose that will clear up in a few days, just like yours did. :-)

    Thanks for your observations about this.
    Dick
    www.VirgilObservatory.us
    Pier-mounted Meade 12-inch SCT "classic"
    w. focal reducer to f/5.3 ~ FL 1630mm
    Optec TCF-S focuser
    SBIG CFW-8A and ST7-XME
    FOV ~ 15' x 10'
    H-alpha, BVRI, RGB & Clear filters
    MaxIm and, of course, ACP!
    AAVSO Code: BRIC

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    26,857

    Default

    I hope you don't mind that I moved this here as it is not related to ACP.
    -- Bob

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Virgil, NY
    Posts
    4,723

    Default

    Not at all. Maybe it'll get more visibility, too! I'm still stuck.
    Dick
    www.VirgilObservatory.us
    Pier-mounted Meade 12-inch SCT "classic"
    w. focal reducer to f/5.3 ~ FL 1630mm
    Optec TCF-S focuser
    SBIG CFW-8A and ST7-XME
    FOV ~ 15' x 10'
    H-alpha, BVRI, RGB & Clear filters
    MaxIm and, of course, ACP!
    AAVSO Code: BRIC

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Virgil, NY
    Posts
    4,723

    Default

    I got a raft of responses on the MaxIm board, but none of the things suggested shed any light on this problem. It doesn't matter if the extension is fit, fits or fts. The image files open in other applications like AIP4WIN and MPO Canopus.

    Turns out that I can "select all" images in a folder and DRAG them onto the open MaxIm window, and they will all open. This is a workaround, at least. And, I installed MaxIm on another Win7 computer at work and was able to open image files using File/Open... on the MaxIm menu. This mean, of course, that no one else would be able to reproduce my perfectly reproducible error. So there is some particular and peculiar problem with my home copy on my Win7 machine.
    Dick
    www.VirgilObservatory.us
    Pier-mounted Meade 12-inch SCT "classic"
    w. focal reducer to f/5.3 ~ FL 1630mm
    Optec TCF-S focuser
    SBIG CFW-8A and ST7-XME
    FOV ~ 15' x 10'
    H-alpha, BVRI, RGB & Clear filters
    MaxIm and, of course, ACP!
    AAVSO Code: BRIC

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Virgil, NY
    Posts
    4,723

    Default

    Solved.

    Doug George suggested checking the "File Format" type at the bottom of the File/Open dialog window. Sure enough, it was set to "Adobe Digital Negative." Resetting that to "Auto" fixed the problem.

    Thanks, Doug.
    Dick
    www.VirgilObservatory.us
    Pier-mounted Meade 12-inch SCT "classic"
    w. focal reducer to f/5.3 ~ FL 1630mm
    Optec TCF-S focuser
    SBIG CFW-8A and ST7-XME
    FOV ~ 15' x 10'
    H-alpha, BVRI, RGB & Clear filters
    MaxIm and, of course, ACP!
    AAVSO Code: BRIC

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    26,857

    Default

    Thanks for letting us know, too. It may just help someone else!
    -- Bob

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. DDW - random "ring open" errors
    By Robert Capon in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 32
    Last Post: Dec 14, 2015, 14:06

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •