Results 1 to 9 of 9

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    I live in Massachusettes; Observatory in New Mexico
    Posts
    448

    Default Time synch and Dimension 4

    I happen to reboot my observatory PC this morning and discovered that Dimension 4 - my long time clock synchronization software - failed to start. It seems the flip to 2011 has broken this great freeware. The program has not been updated for many years and it seems the developer has moved on to other things. What do folks use for this task? I run XP.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Strongsville, OH
    Posts
    1,548

    Default

    Hi George,

    I've been using "AboutTime" for a number of years. It's as old as the hills, but still works for me (still running XP on observatory computer).

    Jim

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    28,216

    Default

    My Dimension 4 is working fine. When you say "failed to start" can you be a bit more specific? Coincidentally I just rebooted one of my systems that use D4, and it came up as usual. XP/32.
    -- Bob

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    I live in Massachusettes; Observatory in New Mexico
    Posts
    448

    Default

    I should have said "Failed to show" It does show up in the task manager. But not in the status bar. I'm in the habit of looking at its status log every couple of days or so. I have no way of knowing if its actually correcting the clock.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    28,216

    Default

    Ah, maybe a Win7 thing? Have you looked in the little hidden area for task tray items? Or right click on an empty area of the taskbar, select Properties. In the Taskbar and Start Menu Properties window that appears, Taskbar tab, Notification area, click Customize... That will open a window with all the doodads that use the system tray. Is D4 in the list? Start it up and try looking again. If it's there you can tell Win7 to always show it.
    -- Bob

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    I live in Massachusettes; Observatory in New Mexico
    Posts
    448

    Default

    Hi Bob,

    I'm running XP at NMS.

    ..geo

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    28,216

    Default

    Oh. Well I looked at your site and sure enough it starts and immediately exits. I played with it till I ran out of time and couldn't get it to stay running. ?????
    -- Bob

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    I live in Massachusettes; Observatory in New Mexico
    Posts
    448

    Default

    Ah well, I switched to About Time. It seems to be working. It's even older than D4!

    Thanks for taking a look.

    ..geo

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    I live in Massachusettes; Observatory in New Mexico
    Posts
    448

    Default

    What ever gremlin was involved got bored and went elsewhere 'cause when I booted the system a few days ago up popped Dimension 4 and its been running fine!

    ..geo

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Scheduler fixed time plans for exoplanet time series
    By Petri Kehusmaa in forum Pre-Sales Technical Questions and Help
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: Aug 15, 2015, 19:25

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •