Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1

    Default Web Based Software Control Scripts

    All,

    Cobbled some ASP pages together to explore the possibility of having a web based access for all Observatory/Software/Power startup. Using RA Admin for this is not a good idea if the observatory is remote due to bandwidth issues. These asp pages can be easily modified for specific purposes so I'll offer them here to anyone interested. They consist of three pages:

    login.asp
    li.asp
    control.asp

    These can be unzipped to the ACP WebDocs directory and then use your favorite editor to edit li.asp and set your username and password that you want to use.

    When accessing this page remotely, you first are required to login to ACP and then you will login to the APP Control Page. This page presents 4 tasks that can, again, easily be modified for your specific needs. I use it to start FocusMax, the RCOS Software, and some power programs. Once these are started the ACP screen can be used to connect to the various devices as intended.

    Exiting out of this app screen takes you to the ACP Page as well.

    I'm working on the shutdown scripts that will reverse this process - but this works well enough to use as is.


    Hope someone finds this to be of value.

    Regards

    Bill
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Virgil, NY
    Posts
    5,686

    Default

    Bill, this is really neat! I hope you'll share your shutdown script(s) as well. I will post these items in the ACP Reference Guide, if you don't mind.
    Dick
    www.VirgilObservatory.us
    Pier-mounted Meade 12-inch SCT "classic"
    Optec TCF-S focuser
    SBIG CFW-8A and ST7-XME
    H-alpha, BVRI, RGB & Clear filters
    FOV ~ 15' x 10'


  3. #3

    Default

    Hi Dick,

    I have absolutely no problem with that at all, and I will certainly share any enhancements that I make. I hope that someone finds it useful

    I didn't know any .asp stuff when I started <lol> so it was useful for me too.

    Best Regards

    Bill

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Virgil, NY
    Posts
    5,686

    Default

    Hi again,

    If ACP is not running, then it's not possible to run the login.asp script. Or are you expecting another server to be running on the observatory computer?
    Dick
    www.VirgilObservatory.us
    Pier-mounted Meade 12-inch SCT "classic"
    Optec TCF-S focuser
    SBIG CFW-8A and ST7-XME
    H-alpha, BVRI, RGB & Clear filters
    FOV ~ 15' x 10'


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Virgil, NY
    Posts
    5,686

    Default

    Another question....

    When I "Run" on FocusMax in the control app, FocusMax does not start, but MaxIm does (as it would if I started FocusMax manually).
    Dick
    www.VirgilObservatory.us
    Pier-mounted Meade 12-inch SCT "classic"
    Optec TCF-S focuser
    SBIG CFW-8A and ST7-XME
    H-alpha, BVRI, RGB & Clear filters
    FOV ~ 15' x 10'


  6. #6

    Default

    Dick,

    To sum it up, yes. ACP needs to be running. My idea is to have ACP start automatically along with the weather software upon boot-up. Then the web server is always available. I have some IP Controlled AC outlets that I use to force a reboot if I need to. On the list will be another way to do this via software. Stay tuned. As I get to it I'll keep you posted. The goal is to not have to rely on VNC or RAdmin due to the bandwith.

    Curious about FocusMax ...... it is probably a path problem. And yes - if FMX starts Maxim then you won't need to do that.

    Best Regards

    Bill

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Virgil, NY
    Posts
    5,686

    Default

    It's not a path problem - see attached .png (FocusMax app is highlighted in green)
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Dick
    www.VirgilObservatory.us
    Pier-mounted Meade 12-inch SCT "classic"
    Optec TCF-S focuser
    SBIG CFW-8A and ST7-XME
    H-alpha, BVRI, RGB & Clear filters
    FOV ~ 15' x 10'


  8. #8

    Default

    Dick,

    I looked at this and the problem might have been self induced by me. Argh !

    Look at control.asp

    --------- the following is how it should read --------------
    <td style="width: 68px"></td>
    <td style="width: 68px">Focus Max</td>
    <td style="width: 68px"></td>
    <td style="width: 68px"><input name="RunFocusMax" type="submit" class="button" value="Run" /></td>
    <td style="width: 68px"></td>
    --------------------------------------------------------------------

    I had an error in my uploaded script where RunFocusMax was actually starting MAximDL <lol>

    That's my fault. However on one of my systems it is acting strange so I am continuing to look at this problem.


    Regards

    Bill

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Virgil, NY
    Posts
    5,686

    Default

    I'll check this out later today. Thanks.
    Dick
    www.VirgilObservatory.us
    Pier-mounted Meade 12-inch SCT "classic"
    Optec TCF-S focuser
    SBIG CFW-8A and ST7-XME
    H-alpha, BVRI, RGB & Clear filters
    FOV ~ 15' x 10'


  10. #10

    Default

    Dick,

    Here is a fixed control.asp page.


    Regards

    Bill
    Attached Files Attached Files

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Mount failed to flip based on its reported pier side info
    By Antoine Vergara in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Sep 8, 2014, 18:59
  2. Mount failed to flip based on its reported pier side info. Wrong Alt/Az reported pos
    By Steve Reilly in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Jun 28, 2012, 02:18
  3. Two GEM Scripts
    By Jim McMillan in forum Add-Ons, Enhancements, and Helper Components
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Feb 26, 2012, 02:14

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •