Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Little Rock, AR USA
    Posts
    454

    Default AP Mount Fails to Complete Parking

    Bob, hope this finds you well. I have finally gotten my system back up, but last night, and this has happened before, the roof failed to close. The ACP control panel said it was a weather latch and it was waiting for the scope to park. The scope was in fact parked and the park indicator on my roof controller showed it to be parked as did the AP driver. Unfortunately, I aborted and ran the shutdown script before remembering to save the shutdown script. Here is what the Scheduler script shows:

    2023-07-10 09:56:49.3: Console is now idle
    2023-07-10 09:56:49.3: Loaded C:\Program Files (x86)\ACP Scheduler\AcquireScheduler.vbs successfully
    2023-07-10 09:56:49.3: Script started successfully
    2023-07-10 09:56:59.3: Sequencer is now active
    2023-07-10 09:59:52.1: Sequencer is no longer active
    2023-07-10 09:59:52.1: Post-job status check done (stat=Failed)
    2023-07-10 09:59:52.1: ACP data acquisition failed for Observation V0561 Cyg.
    2023-07-10 09:59:52.1: (Observation V0561 Cyg interrupted by acquisition process failure.)
    2023-07-10 09:59:52.2: -- Observatory Shutdown --
    2023-07-10 09:59:52.2: Weather safety is now disabled
    2023-07-10 09:59:52.2: Start ACP Sequencer's ShutdownObs script
    2023-07-10 09:59:52.2: ACP.RunScript(ShutdownObs, ):
    2023-07-10 09:59:52.2: Script AcquireScheduler is loaded, and
    2023-07-10 09:59:52.2: the console is idle.
    2023-07-10 09:59:52.2: In start loop, i = 0
    2023-07-10 09:59:52.2: Console is now idle
    2023-07-10 09:59:52.5: Loaded C:\Users\Public\Documents\ACP Config\Scheduler\ShutdownObs.js successfully
    2023-07-10 09:59:52.5: Script started successfully
    2023-07-10 10:00:02.5: Sequencer is now active
    2023-07-10 15:33:13.9: **DISPATCHER INTERRUPT LEVEL 1 RECEIVED**
    2023-07-10 15:33:18.4: Sequencer is no longer active
    2023-07-10 15:33:18.4: Weather safety is re-enabled
    2023-07-10 15:33:18.4: Email: using no transport security with 10.0.0.45
    2023-07-10 15:33:18.4: -- Weather Unsafe --
    2023-07-10 15:33:29.0: -- Testing Operator Intervention tool --
    2023-07-10 15:33:29.0: No operator intervention command tool specified
    2023-07-11 02:16:47.2: ++ Weather Safe ++
    CEO, Operations Director, Imaging Specialist, Optical Engineer, Telescope Operator, Principle Investigator, Processing Technician, Science Advisor, Systems Guru, Receptionist and Finance Manager; Protostar project, River Ridge Observatory.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    33,371

    Default

    I'm a bit foggy on this one. Please attach the run log for Observation V0561 Cyg. It failed. Was that for weather unsafe? I see where you killed the shutdown script itself. Depending on the sequencing, you may have defeated it. I can't really tell. I apologize. If this happens again maybe I can get more context.
    -- Bob

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Little Rock, AR USA
    Posts
    454

    Default

    okay will be sure to catch the shutdown log next time. hope not after a rain. I am wondering if a delayed report that the scope is parked would cause this? In other words is there a time period in which "scope parked" has to be confirmed or the program will stop looking for it and lock up? I am considering dew on the reflector in the park sensor system that delays confirmation even though the scope is in the park position.
    CEO, Operations Director, Imaging Specialist, Optical Engineer, Telescope Operator, Principle Investigator, Processing Technician, Science Advisor, Systems Guru, Receptionist and Finance Manager; Protostar project, River Ridge Observatory.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    33,371

    Default

    I'm sorry I may not understand. If I remember you have a killer roof, so ACP first parks the scope, then waits (forever) for the scope to report that it has parked, then it tells the roof to start closing. There are no timers or other "guesstimation". The scope has to tell ACP that it has completed parking via its ASCOM interface. If it doesn't then ACP won't close the roof, ever. If you have interlocks. perhaps they are in the picture? I'm never ever comfortable with low hanging roof setups.
    -- Bob

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Little Rock, AR USA
    Posts
    454

    Default

    I guess you answered the question I asked. The question remains, if the mount driver says the scope is parked and the laser interlock says it is parked why does ACP not know it is parked. What could account for that, is what I have to resolve.

    thanks for the help
    CEO, Operations Director, Imaging Specialist, Optical Engineer, Telescope Operator, Principle Investigator, Processing Technician, Science Advisor, Systems Guru, Receptionist and Finance Manager; Protostar project, River Ridge Observatory.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    33,371

    Default

    What is the mount driver? Sorry I can't keep track of what mounts who has. If it says it's parked, and ACP doesn't know, it seems like a but ion the mount and/or driver. Is this an intermittent problem? How do you know the mount says it's parked? If you can reliably reproduce the problem, we can set up a test environment where we put the Device Hub or POTH between ACP and the mount, and we can see all of the traffic. It's going to be difficult if it's a spooky intermittent problem.
    -- Bob

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Little Rock, AR USA
    Posts
    454

    Default

    It is very intermittent. Astro physics mount. I found a discussion on this type of problem on the AP forum from 2017. It has to do with the polling that goes on between the driver and software like ACP. A fix was supposedly made. I have posted a message there. We will see what comes of it.

    Thanks
    CEO, Operations Director, Imaging Specialist, Optical Engineer, Telescope Operator, Principle Investigator, Processing Technician, Science Advisor, Systems Guru, Receptionist and Finance Manager; Protostar project, River Ridge Observatory.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    33,371

    Default

    Ah yes, ACP checks AtPark. If it's not true, then ACP will wait until it is true. I do believe there was an update for this.
    -- Bob

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scottsville, Virginia
    Posts
    1,470

    Default

    Bob,
    This is a problem I've had in the past and with my AP1200GTO mount. In my case the scope was in the park position but ACP saw it as still parking. The only solution I could think of was to use the direct close function in the roof software/program but in my case I had used micro switches on both axis to ensure the mount was safe (in the assigned park position) before the roof was closed. Out of curiosity Bruce, which roof controller board are you using?
    Steve
    http://www.astral-imaging.com

    Scottsville, Virginia
    ACP Expert
    AP1200GTO
    Mach 2
    Tak EM200
    AP 92mm Stowaway
    OGS 12.5" RC
    TAK FSQ-106ED
    ZWO ASI2600MC Duo Dual Chip CMOS
    STL-11000M/CF8
    STX-16803
    Pyxis 3" Rotator
    Aquila-88 Rotator
    Starlight Xpress UltraStar Guider
    MMOGA
    12' Astro Haven Dome
    Roll off Roof Obs.

    SRO
    ASA600 24" f/7 RC
    AP3600GTO
    SBIG AC4040BSI
    SBIG Star Chaser

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Little Rock, AR USA
    Posts
    454

    Default

    Bob, my controller is custom made by a friend. I am not well enough versed in programing to articulate the nature of the problem here very well, but a search of the AP forum reveals that this is a long standing issue that may or may not be unique to ACP related to the com process between the observatory program (ACP in our case) and the mount driver and ASCOM. Ray undertook a solution several years ago, but obviously it did not totally solve it. I sent a problem notice to AP but have heard nothing. I suggest you do the same. You might mention that you understand others have (me) have reported the same problem and gotten no response. I think Bob Denny should get with Ray on this really.

    I could hunt down the thread on this, which includes and explanation of what happens, but I would think that Ray would know the problem and what has been done without that. As I recall it sort boils down to you are expecting a call from me to tell you it is time to do something but I call just when you stepped away for a moment. Having missed the call, you sit there indefinitely.
    CEO, Operations Director, Imaging Specialist, Optical Engineer, Telescope Operator, Principle Investigator, Processing Technician, Science Advisor, Systems Guru, Receptionist and Finance Manager; Protostar project, River Ridge Observatory.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 10micron mount slews appear to complete but the mount drifts for many seconds
    By Manoj Koushik in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Nov 12, 2019, 14:45
  2. Parking via TheSky fails from ACP
    By Peter Prendergast in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: Oct 5, 2015, 17:04
  3. AP Fails to complete parking (Scheduler doesn't close down)
    By Steve Reilly in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: Mar 19, 2015, 15:48
  4. Parking Paramount with TheSky X does not complete
    By rspostrspost in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: May 22, 2012, 03:50
  5. Parking ME Mount
    By Steve Reilly in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Apr 11, 2010, 13:54

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •