Results 1 to 9 of 9

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Bourne, MA
    Posts
    224

    Default iOptron showing incorrect LST (was: ACP wakes up with wrong LST)

    ACP wakes up with a different LST than the iOptron mount reports.
    Mount is correct. ACP agrees with the mount on local time, RA/Dec.
    But LST is different by several hours. Sometimes its as much as 10 hrs. And then sometimes something clicks and ACP suddenly agrees with the mount.
    Different LST means it has latched on to a different lat/long.

    I've checked the ACP preferences for the observatory and the value there is correct.

    How can I quickly convince ACP of the true lat/long? Go through preferences is and the value is there is correct.

    This is beyond aggravating as a good night goes to waste. With the wrong LST than the dome azimuth is wrong and the scope is blocked.
    George

    PS. One way to poke at the system is to connect to the telescope with the ASCOM Device Hub. That connection process/data flow is seen by ACP and it finally adjusts.
    Last edited by George A Silvis; Dec 13, 2021 at 05:44.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    32,392

    Default

    Wow! That's a new one on me! By "wakes up" do you mean "when it is launched"? And is this after a reboot or ??? Did this "just start happening"? Or what might have changed to precipitate it? Is this on all AAVSO Net nodes or just one system?

    ACP reads the system time, and the configured Lat/Long from the Observatory tab of Preferences, then starts calculating and displaying the LST.

    I need a way to reproduce this. Can you reproduce it at will? What happens if you switch from the iOptron to the ASCOM Telescope simulator? Does it still happen?

    One way to poke at the system is to connect to the telescope with the ASCOM Device Hub. That connection process/data flow is seen by ACP and it finally adjusts.
    I'm sorry I don't understand this. Do you mean that, while ACP is connected and showing the incorrect LST, you connect the Device Hub to the iOptron driver and what do you mean "poke"? Whatever, that causes ACP to start showing the correct LST???

    What is the status of ACP's Telescope setting "Inhibit sending date/time and lat/long to scope"? It should not hve an effect but I am grasping at straws.
    -- Bob

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Bourne, MA
    Posts
    224

    Default

    Hi Bob,

    This has been happening on my own system, not the AAVSOnet scopes. And it has been happening 10% of the time I fire up the scope. I hit ACP telescope connect and cross my fingers. And sometimes its wrong for 2 minutes and suddenly fixes itself.

    The other devices connected to the scope are all showing the correct LST.

    By poke I just meant that I had the ASCOM Hub make a connection and I'm guessing the message traffic of that process catches the attention of ACP.

    The geometry is that I'm using the iOptron ASCOM driver for the CEM 120 mount and maybe ACP is not happy with that. Serial and driver access traces are turned on so I'll wade through those to see what I can find.

    Do you concur that it looks like ACP has a wrong lat/long for the scope? RA/Dec look OK.

    George

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Virgil, NY
    Posts
    5,877

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by George A Silvis View Post
    Different LST means it has latched on to a different lat/long.
    Just a brief comment, George. If the sign of the longitude got changed (who know why...), then you would shift from UTC-5 to UTC+5, and that could account for a 10-hour shift in LST.
    Dick
    www.VirgilObservatory.us
    Pier-mounted Meade 12-inch SCT "classic"
    Optec TCF-S focuser
    SBIG CFW-8A and ST7-XMEv
    H-alpha, BVRI, RGB & Clear filters
    FOV ~15í x 10í



  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Bourne, MA
    Posts
    224

    Default

    Thanks Dick,
    Good suggestion for a 10 hr offset. But the offsets are all over the place.
    My suspicion is now on the iOptron ASCOM driver. But I don't want to solve their driver problem: I just want things to work!
    Thx,
    George

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    32,392

    Default

    George -- To isolate the problem, switch to the ASCOM Telescope Simulator .NET. Try 20 times. I'm going to bet that the problem never appears. Let us know the results.

    [PS this is one reason I love ASCOM - it's easy to localize problems]
    -- Bob

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    32,392

    Default

    George - Iím pinging this. May I close it or is there still a problem?
    -- Bob

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Bourne, MA
    Posts
    224

    Default

    I haven't seen the problem appear again, yet. I'm ready to pounce with screen shots and logs.

    My work around appears to work: to connect to the scope with the hub.

    The better solution may well be to use the ACP hub instead of the iOptron scope driver which has hub capabilities.

    Thx,
    George

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    32,392

    Default

    Phone call today, this turned out to be incorrect LST on the scope. Due to multiple problems in the distant past with trash LST coming from scopes, I calculate the LST internally from the Lat-Long and system time. I'm ashamed not to have asked him to check it either here in the thread, or for the first 15 minutes of the call. It was George who had the presence of mind to check it.

    Moved to the non-ACP section.
    -- Bob

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. iOptron ASCOM with ACP?
    By Sam Frizza in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Dec 9, 2018, 00:47
  2. Ra/dec/lst
    By Jim McMillan in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Mar 21, 2011, 15:12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •