Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    264

    Default Windows 1909 Causes ACP to become unstable

    Bob,

    On my Soka system, when ACP runs the shutdown script (no scheduler involved or open), it completes the shutdown, doesn't close the dome, and then ACP closes. I have no idea why Amp is shutting itself down and closing the app entirely after shutdown. Is this related to the windows update? This machine may have updated on its own without me knowing.

    I am running 1903 18362.388

    Paul

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    264

    Default

    Basically ACP is crashing on everything, startup, shutdown, I can't keep the program running.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Christchurch, Dorset, United Kingdom
    Posts
    81

    Default ACP Closes itself after shutdown

    If Windows 10 is the OS then the following may be applicable, in particular with reference to RPC errors there are known problems with Microsofts recently released and then recalled October 2019 ‘Feature Update’ 1909 and Septembers quality update for 1903.

    Windows 10 bi-annual ‘Feature Update’ 1909 that was released just a week ago has been causing problems and was pulled from general distribution after four days however some users will have received this update and already automatically installed it.

    In addition Septembers monthly quality update for release 1903 has caused RPC errors to appear.

    MS are due to release a ‘Quality’ update tomorrow, 8th Oct, which is supposed to fix the known problems so far, unless MS find other problems and delay the QA update. It’s also been rumoured that the 1909 bi-annual feature update will be re-released with fixes tomorrow, 8th Oct but this is not confirmed and given the mess that Win 10 updates have been the last six months this may slip again.

    There is also an already released manual update that fixes some of the known issues, KB4524147, which you could download and install yourself from the MS update centre and see if this includes the fixes needed for ACP but probably the best thing is to roll back Septembers 1903 quality update, or Octobers 1909 feature update, if you received that, and delay its reinstallation for a few weeks giving MS a chance to fix 1903/1909 properly.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    27,488

    Default

    Thank you very much William!

    Paul, did this "just start happening"? If so then maybe William is on to something. So it went from not cleanly shutting down to not being able to run at all? Is there any indication, any error message? This is pretty skimpy info from which to proceed. If it won't even start up, and it doesn't produce any indications, then my first suggestion is to re-run the ACP installer. Don't uninstall. Just re-run the installer.

    Meanwhile if you are still interested in the shutdown script... it's not the one for Scheduler, right? "No scheduler involved"? Does ACP close without any error indications... it just closes? Can this be reproduced at will? If so I can give you additional help. I need to see the shutdown script itself though. Does it produce any sort of log? If so then I need to see that even more! If the shutdown script is based on a Schedler SchutdownObs script it might/should produce a log in My Documents\ACP Astronomy\Logs.
    -- Bob

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    27,488

    Default

    There is also an already released manual update that fixes some of the known issues, KB4524147, which you could download and install yourself from the MS update centre and see if this includes the fixes needed for ACP but probably the best thing is to roll back Septembers 1903 quality update, or Octobers 1909 feature update, if you received that, and delay its reinstallation for a few weeks giving MS a chance to fix 1903/1909 properly.
    Paul -- If "this just started happening" and you can confirm that you got 1909, then this appears to be the best course of action.
    -- Bob

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    27,488

    Default

    Sorry all, I accidentally moved William's post here to the new Windows 10 Update Issues section instead of copying. I Copied back and broke the thread flow here. My apologies.
    -- Bob

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    264

    Default

    its the 1909 stuff. There is no information. I can run startup or shutdown and when it completes ACP just closes. This just started happening over the weekend.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    27,488

    Default

    OK, remove 1909 PRONTO!!! You only have a few days to do it. I am sending out an alert today with details for customers to avoid this BS until MS gets their act together. I have also sent a note to someone I know inside MS and of course made a complaint in their feedback section.

    The fact this this is a silent failure is very disappointing. I hope we can get other feedback. I will try to make it happen here too.
    Last edited by Bob Denny; Oct 7, 2019 at 19:21.
    -- Bob

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    ABQ (me) // Rincona NM (scope)
    Posts
    724

    Default

    Hooo boy happily I missed this one by one day (had just paused Win 10 updates until November).

    Some other info, no doubt to be updated again this week as MS pulls their, ..., well, wakes up:

    https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/microsoft/windows-10-kb4524147-update-may-cause-boot-and-printing-issues/

    ...aaaaand... I think I'll leave them paused. thanks for the info
    New Mexico Mira Project, Albuquerque NM

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Pasadena, CA
    Posts
    264

    Default

    Ok I will have to look into how to roll back.

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Accessing a windows executable from ACP
    By James Cottle in forum Add-Ons, Enhancements, and Helper Components
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: Jul 1, 2014, 21:55

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •