Results 1 to 8 of 8

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scottsville, Virginia
    Posts
    1,021

    Default CCDNav3 and ACP Expert

    I'm trying to get CCDNav3 to be able to send the targets to Expert but I keep getting two error messages. Invalid Domain. ACP Expert is unreachable. Two different pop ups. I have tested both the my-sky.com url and the WAN address while remoted into the SRO computer (out of my local area network) and they both are good addresses. The LAN address doesn't work either. Anybody using CCDNav3 with Expert and able to utilize this CCDNav function successfully? I know at one time I did have it working but that was years ago. I had problems earlier with getting CCDNav to work with TSX but after a lot of trouble shooting came to the conclusion that I needed to reset Windoze 10 which has been done and the earlier issues are now gone. The pain of reloading programs, updates, and settings but necessary.

    Any advice would be gratefully received.

    Thanks

    Steve
    Steve
    http://www.astral-imaging.com

    Scottsville, Virginia
    ACP Expert
    AP1200GTO
    Tak EM200
    AP 92mm Stowaway
    OGS 12.5" RC
    TAK FSQ-106ED
    STL-11000M/CF8
    ST10XME/CFW8
    Pyxis 3" Rotator

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    26,235

    Default

    The LAN address at SRO will never work from the outside :-) I am not that familiar with CCDNav. I would just make sure that from the same system on which you run CCDNav that you can log in via My-Sky or the equivalent public IP. Are you using a port other than 80? You can test connectivity to the CCDNav webservice ty typing into your browser

    http://[I]whatever[/I].my-sky.com/ac/asqueryccdnav.asp

    What happens? oh and use Chrome or Firefox for this test, MSIE may hide critical info.
    -- Bob

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scottsville, Virginia
    Posts
    1,021

    Default

    Bob I did the test with the my-sky.com and got this response:

    This site canít be reached

    ***.my-sky.com took too long to respond.



    ERR_CONNECTION_TIMED_OUT

    But let me fully explain, what I'm trying to setup first is the ability to work on my home system. The observatory computer and the office computer I'm using are all on my home network (LAN) so what I'm trying to do is add targets via CCDNavigator for my home observatory. That's why I've tried the LAN address of the observatory computer as well as the IP address that NUC has with the port number, in this case 8120 which does test open. I've tried both with the port # that was forwarded on my router (8120) and no port number. As I said these are valid and if I log into the SRO computer these addresses are reachable and I get the ACP login screen. But for home, with everything on this network I can't reach the home observatory computer. I can use TeamViewer and log into it, I can use Remote Desktop and log in. I just don't seem to be able to connect CCDNav3 to it.

    When I get this done and working I'll then add another site for SRO.




    Attached Images Attached Images
    Steve
    http://www.astral-imaging.com

    Scottsville, Virginia
    ACP Expert
    AP1200GTO
    Tak EM200
    AP 92mm Stowaway
    OGS 12.5" RC
    TAK FSQ-106ED
    STL-11000M/CF8
    ST10XME/CFW8
    Pyxis 3" Rotator

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    26,235

    Default

    Now I am really confused. Let's start with first principles.

    1. Can you log your web browser into the ACP Expert system you want CCDNav to use? I mean enter your username/password and see the System Status page.
    2. If so you should see http://whatever/index.asp in the browser's address field. If you can't do this then forget the rest of it and solve this problem
    3. Remove the index.asp, replace with as/asqueryccdnav.asp and hit enter.

    what happens?
    -- Bob

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scottsville, Virginia
    Posts
    1,021

    Default

    only if I use my LAN address for that computer, then yes, I get asked for user name and password. Any other attempt with the my-sky or actual WAN address (with or without the port #) and using as/asqueryccdnav.asp instead of /index.asp gives the same result I posted "This site can't be reached"

    Steve
    http://www.astral-imaging.com

    Scottsville, Virginia
    ACP Expert
    AP1200GTO
    Tak EM200
    AP 92mm Stowaway
    OGS 12.5" RC
    TAK FSQ-106ED
    STL-11000M/CF8
    ST10XME/CFW8
    Pyxis 3" Rotator

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scottsville, Virginia
    Posts
    1,021

    Default

    Steve advised that I needed to have the http:// with the address and used that way with the LAN it does connect to ACP Expert. The WAN addresses don't.
    Steve
    http://www.astral-imaging.com

    Scottsville, Virginia
    ACP Expert
    AP1200GTO
    Tak EM200
    AP 92mm Stowaway
    OGS 12.5" RC
    TAK FSQ-106ED
    STL-11000M/CF8
    ST10XME/CFW8
    Pyxis 3" Rotator

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Scottsville, Virginia
    Posts
    1,021

    Default

    Bob,

    I was close with your suggestion but seems the index.asp was causing issues when using the LAN address. I just posted this to Steve at CCDWare:

    Sorry for all the tail chasing. I'm a bit more than dizzy but both home and SRO are now setup and working. As we are likely to be adding a 24" RC in the very near future this will certainly be a huge tool in finding adequate targets. Why I hadn't tried that before is beyond me although Bob had suggested a link http://whatever/index.asp but the index.asp was causing issues.
    Thanks again for the help.

    As mentioned it seems likely we'll be adding a 24" OGS RC at SRO in the near future and of course will be using ACP to run things as well. It's unclear at this point if David will keep the 12.5" going out there as well but one way or the other I'll make sure we have a legit license for both. I haven't heard a final commit or timeline as of yet but hope to be going out there by fall to do some of the onsite work.

    Thanks for you patience in getting me out of this mess......

    -Steve

    Steve
    http://www.astral-imaging.com

    Scottsville, Virginia
    ACP Expert
    AP1200GTO
    Tak EM200
    AP 92mm Stowaway
    OGS 12.5" RC
    TAK FSQ-106ED
    STL-11000M/CF8
    ST10XME/CFW8
    Pyxis 3" Rotator

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    26,235

    Default

    I'm even more confused now. Did you get this resolved? Do you understand what the problem really was? I just want to make sure you're happy. I really don't get whgat you've been doing and failing at. I'm sorry.
    -- Bob

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Serious Bug in CCDNav3 3.1.9 relating to ACP Expert
    By Steve Walters in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: Mar 13, 2016, 14:19
  2. Now extended experience with ACP and ACP Expert VERY COOL STUFF
    By Peter Prendergast in forum Success Stories & Kind Words
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: Jul 1, 2014, 18:08

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •