While I have been building computers for our observatories for a few years and with changing technologies these days I'm looking to see if there are any considerations I've missed. These days I use SSDs for both speed and power consumption, integrated graphics when available, Intel i7 Quad Core CPUs (not necessarily for processing computers depending on budget), 16 GBs RAM maxing out the RAM slots if dual/quad channel is supported, Startech PCIe RS232 serial cards instead of USB-Serial converters, minimum Windows 7 Pro 64 bit, and minimum 4 USB 2.0 and 4 USB 3.0 slots available. Motherboards are typically Gigabyte, Asus, or MSI higher end and typically Antec mid tower cases that provide excellent airflow for cooling. Antec or EVGA 750 watt power supplies that are typically modular.