Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1

    Default FocusMax Reports Failure When Apparently Succesful [was: Does scheduler...]

    I am testing a new change that moves the telescope when it is pointing before the horizon limits in ACP. Steve added this because the slew back with fail to plate solve aimed at a wall in park position. The change in the beta version worked well.

    However, FM runs twice and I thought it was because the first time failed before this new version, but it did 2 runs this time and it did not fail either time. So now I am thinking Scheduler is running it a second time because I am using acquired star.
    Dean Salman
    Deep Sky Remote Observatory


    http://www.ccdimages.com
    http://www.sharplesscatalog.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    27,051

    Default

    I am testing a new change that moves the telescope when it is pointing before the horizon limits in ACP. Steve added this because the slew back with fail to plate solve aimed at a wall in park position. The change in the beta version worked well.
    I'm sorry, I don't understand. Are you patching ACP's logic to make up for a mount that does incorrect slews?

    However, FM runs twice and I thought it was because the first time failed before this new version, but it did 2 runs this time and it did not fail either time. So now I am thinking Scheduler is running it a second time because I am using acquired star.
    When it is time to do a periodic AF, Scheduler does it with a single run of the AutoFocusScheduler script. This initializes the AcquireSupport library, and as part of that if FocusMax is not already running, it will start it.

    However reading your post I cannot visualize the original problem, what the process is, where it is "going wrong" so I can't offer much more than answering your specific question.
    -- Bob

  3. #3

    Default

    Well, I guess is ok what it is doing. It is not a big thing, so it runs twice.

    1. Scheduler is waiting for the sun altitude to get below the setting by the user, in this case -16
    2. SchedulerAutoFocus runs which starts acquire star in FM
    3. Focus was success and return is back to Scheduler
    4. SchedulerAutoFocus runs which starts acquire star in FM (2nd Time)
    5. SchedulerAcquire starts

    During the night scheduler calls SchedulerFocus and acquire start runs and is successful, however, focus is not run again as it was after scheduler came out of sleep after sunset
    Dean Salman
    Deep Sky Remote Observatory


    http://www.ccdimages.com
    http://www.sharplesscatalog.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    27,051

    Default

    I would like to see the Scheduler Engine Log for this, along with the two AutoFocus logs from when it runs back to back. It doesn't sound right. I am in the midst of doing things for Scheduler 8.1 so I'd like to at least address it. I don't see it happening here.
    -- Bob

  5. #5

    Default

    It did not happen yesterday so let me get out of the focusMax beta mode first. I think it was doing that before so I can still send the logs from the night before if that will help still
    Dean Salman
    Deep Sky Remote Observatory


    http://www.ccdimages.com
    http://www.sharplesscatalog.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    27,051

    Default

    OK, I'm just trying to get to the bottom of it.
    -- Bob

  7. #7

    Default

    ok I looked and the log said auto focus Failed but the autofocus was ok. I attached the logs anyway, but last night was ok so will try it again.

    BTW the changes in build 29 are working well, from a park FM slews to 70 alt and either 90 or 270 depending on the where the scope is, so the return slew does not plate solve in park which makes it fail because is pointing to the wall
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Dean Salman
    Deep Sky Remote Observatory


    http://www.ccdimages.com
    http://www.sharplesscatalog.com

  8. #8

    Default

    Ok this a problem, I had to disable acquire star last night. It would just do a endless repeat. This is what I sent Steve.

    ************************************************** ***************************
    Hi Steve,

    ACP fails focusMax when Acquire star is complete. Something is being return to ACP that makes it think it failed. I am posting a ticket on the ACP forum, but wanted to include them in this email to make them aware that you know about it as well.

    This is from the engine of scheduler
    09-Jun-2016 07:13:22.5: ** Autofocus failed (n=3), will retry ASAP after 10 min

    I have also attached the FM log that failed. Right now I have to disable Acquire star in ACP. Last night it was a endless try, which surprised me since I thought scheduler would continue anyway after a couple of tries

    ************************************************** ***************************

    I was looking for the area where the sub.autofocus was to see what is returned when FM fails. I suspect I know what is happening but I don't want to confuse the post. The FM log attach was successful but ACP failed it instantly. If this is in ACP, can you tell me how I might be able to fix it now. I have others that depend on Acquire star but I need to see if they are having the same issue. I am on FM build 29 and they are on 28, but I was seeing this in build 28 sometimes.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Dean Salman
    Deep Sky Remote Observatory


    http://www.ccdimages.com
    http://www.sharplesscatalog.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    27,051

    Default

    Dean, the important logs are those produced by ACP. Can you find the relevant AutoFocusXXXXXX.Log files for each of the focus runs that failed for the 20160609@055702 Scheduler Engine Log? If so post them. That will help me see what makes ACP think it failed. They should be in the My Documents\ACP Astronomy\Logs\AutoFocus\Autofocus-xxxxxx.log
    -- Bob

  10. #10

    Default

    This should be the one, I recall this when watching it run
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Dean Salman
    Deep Sky Remote Observatory


    http://www.ccdimages.com
    http://www.sharplesscatalog.com

 

 

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Shutdown Failure; DDWCP Mis-reports dome status multiple times
    By Robert Capon in forum Hardware/Software/Driver Topics Not Directly Related to Our Software
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: Dec 31, 2014, 19:28
  2. FocusMax not seeing PinPoint at all (was: AutoFocus Failure)
    By Ilan Manulis in forum FocusMax and PoleAlignMax Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: Jul 24, 2013, 20:21

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •